Not all of your closest friends will stay close forever.

read time: 5 minutes 

Welcome to The Movement Memo, a bi-weekly newsletter where I share actionable tips to help you live your best day ever, every day.

Today's Programming 

  • Movement: 2 rounds for time

  • Quote: Adeney on defining your best day ever

  • Lesson: The 10 biggest mistakes I made in my 20’s

  • Optimization: The importance of nitric oxide and vasodilation

Today's Movement 

Complete 2 rounds for time:

• 50 dumbbell box step-ups
• 40 box jumps
• 30 dumbbell thrusters

♀ 20-inch box and 35-lb dumbbells
♂ 24-inch box and 50-lb dumbbells

Leadville Training Camp ’24!

Today's Quote

“The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.”

— Alan Watts

This quote cuts to the core: don’t tiptoe around change—dive straight in. 

Moving with change, rather than resisting it, forges deeper connections and unlocks new passions. 

It’s about adapting to the ebb and flow, finding our rhythm in the midst of chaos. 

Change isn’t an adversary; it’s the very force that shapes our journey.

Today's Lesson Learned

The Importance of People in Your Life

The people you surround yourself with are incredibly important. We’ve all had those moments of inspiration—whether it’s a business we want to start or a dream we want to chase—only to be met with blank stares from those closest to us. The lack of excitement and support can be disheartening.

A harsh truth: Not all of your closest friends will stay close forever.

 As we evolve, so do our relationships. Often, those who are nearest to us end up holding us back, not out of jealousy, but out of love.

The reality is that people fall in love with the version of you they first meet. They know and cherish that stage of your life. When you start to grow, the person they adore begins to change and become just a part of who you are now. You acquire new skills, set new priorities, and meet new people who align more with your current path. Growth is a fundamental part of life; we are constantly evolving as we age.

When I was 26, my career dictated my life. I worked set hours, dressed the part, and didn’t prioritize exercise. I was chasing money, trading my time for it, and cared deeply about the public’s perception of success. My friends at that time shared similar priorities; we worked hard during the week and partied hard on weekends.

While I still cherish those relationships, our interests and hobbies no longer align. Now at 43, my life dictates my career. I define how I want to spend my hours, often taking meetings on mountain tops. My friendships now are built through shared experiences, training, and challenges.

As your life changes, so will your friendships. This is one of the hardest parts of growth.

But this growth is inevitable. 

When I was younger, I avoided difficult situations, preferring the comfort of familiarity. But I’ve learned that stepping out of your comfort zone is where real growth happens.

At 29, I decided to take on my first Ironman triathlon. It was daunting, and many of my friends didn’t understand why I would put myself through such rigorous training. They saw it as unnecessary suffering. But to me, it was about pushing my limits and discovering what I was truly capable of.

Training for the Ironman was transformative. It required a level of discipline and commitment that I had never experienced before. 

My old routines and habits had to change. 

The people who supported this journey became my new tribe, as we shared early morning swims, long bike rides, and exhausting runs. 

These experiences created bonds that were forged through shared suffering.

This shift wasn’t just physical; it was mental and emotional too. 

I learned to embrace discomfort, knowing that it was a sign of progress. 

The friendships I built during this time were based on mutual respect and understanding of the challenges we faced together.

Now, as I continue to seek new challenges, whether in my career or personal life, I understand that growth requires embracing the unknown and surrounding myself with those who uplift and inspire me. 

A Harsh Truth: It’s not always easy to leave behind the familiar, but it’s essential as you grow.

Remember, as your life evolves, so will your friendships. 

It’s one of the hardest parts of growth. 

Surround yourself with those who inspire you and embrace the journey ahead. 

The right people will come into your life at the right time, supporting and encouraging your path to becoming the best version of yourself.

Today's Optimization

As we age our cells age, but I believe we get to choose what 40-year-old, 50-year-old, and 60-year-old we want to be. I envision mountain biking into my 60's and surfing in my 70's. But here’s a fact, after 30, muscle mass decreases by approximately 3–8% per decade. I’m pretty fascinated with cellular health at the moment and recently I learned the primary cause for this decline is based on mitochondrial function, the “powerhouse” of our cells.

I started researching ways to limit this decline and have come to believe mitochondria are the bedrock of good health. Healthy cells rely on healthy mitochondria. Their optimal function leads to incredible health benefits and is particularly essential to heart, kidney, eye, brain, skin, and muscle function. As we age, mitochondrial function declines. Our mitochondria are constantly renewed to produce energy and fulfill the vast energy demands of muscle, skin, and other tissues, but as we get older, mitochondrial renewal declines and dysfunctional mitochondria accumulate in the cells, resulting in significant issues.

I recently started taking Timeline’s Mitopure (a clinically studied/proven supplement), which unlocks the power of Urolithin A, a molecule that stimulates this crucial recycling and cleansing process in our mitochondria - ultimately protecting cells from age-associated decline. Today Timeline is offering Movement Memo subscribers an exclusive deal: 10% off your first order using code “Hinman” at checkout.

Know friends, training partners, or co-workers who would take value from weekly tips on a healthier lifestyle, enhanced accountability, and improved routines? Thanks for sharing!

WAS THIS FORWARDED TO YOU? Sign up here!

QUESTIONS OR THOUGHTS? Reply to this email!

Publisher: Eric Hinman

Editor-in-chief: Bobby Ryan