The Diary Of An Athlete

(8 laws on training and life):

read time: 6 minutes 

Welcome to The Movement Memo, a bi-weekly newsletter where I share actionable tips to help you live your best day ever, every day.

Today's Programming 

  • Movement: 10-minutes of burpees

  • Quote: Gable on sport

  • Lesson: The Diary Of An Athlete (8 laws on training and life)

  • Podcast: Jeremey Giffon on the being early in entrepreneurship

  • Optimization: Boost your energy and mental clarity

Today's Movement 

Compete a 10-minute EMOM (every minute on the minute):

  • 16 Burpee Box Jump Over

♀ 20-inch box

♂ 24-inch box

Today's Quote

“Wrestling isn’t for everybody, but it should be.”

-Dan Gable

When asked what quote he would put on a billboard, this is what Olympic gold medalist Dan Gable had to say.

My version would be slightly different.

Sport isn’t for everybody, but it should be.

Sport teaches universal lessons that apply far beyond the court, field, or arena.

To be good at any sport you must master self-discipline, competition, and resilience – which are what make you a high performer in life.

Today's Lesson Learned

The Diary Of An Athlete (8 laws on training and life):

When I first began my journey in fitness, I needed help. I knew nothing about nutrition, programming, or training. I had trouble getting myself to show up to the gym. And I constantly fell off my “health kicks”. Then I hired a personal trainer, which created a built-in accountability partner, and I stopped focusing on quick fixes.  Over the past 15 years, my dedication to fitness has not only shaped my body but also shifted my entire life philosophy.

Here are 8 fundamental principles I learned from training that enhanced my life. (These may help you change yours):

  1. Begin with Clear, Achievable Goals

Setting clear, achievable goals is critical. Don’t aim to be just another bodybuilder, marketer, or insurance salesman; ask yourself in what area can I become world-class?

Then, start small. 

Set goals that challenge you without leading to discouragement. Whether it’s increasing your lift weight, improving your endurance, or booking more meetings, setting specific goals keeps you focused.

  1. Consistency is Key

Consistency is at the heart of any routine. It’s not about intense, sporadic efforts but regular, disciplined practice. 

Try to integrate a consistent schedule into your routine, be it 3x per week or daily, and stick to it. 

Consistency breeds habits, and habits form the backbone of success.

  1. Embrace Learning

Never stop learning. The best in the world continually educate themselves about new techniques and changes happening in their field.

Subscribe to credible newsletters, read the latest research, and perhaps most importantly, learn by doing.

Each day is an opportunity to understand your field better.

  1. Recovery is Part of Growth

I cannot stress the importance of recovery enough. In training, your muscles need time to heal and grow. In your career, your mind needs time to reset and unplug. Ensure you're getting enough sleep, managing stress, and giving your body the nutrients it needs to recover.

This might mean taking “off days” seriously and considering them as a critical part of your regimen.

  1. Visualize Success

Visualization is a technique the greats swear by. Spend time visualizing your success. This could be imagining yourself completing your set reps or visualizing your future performance.

This mental practice not only prepares your mind for the task but also instills a deeper level of discipline and motivation.

  1. Seek Feedback and Mentorship

Don’t shy away from seeking advice and mentorship. Connect with others who share your goals. Join forums, attend workshops, and if possible, get a coach.

Feedback is invaluable, and having someone to guide you can make a significant difference in your rate of learning.

  1. Measure Progress (the reverse gap)

Finally, always measure your progress.

Keep a “training log” or use an app to track your inputs. Humans are notoriously bad at validating their growth. 

We focus more on where we want to be (not on how far we have come).

Regular reviews will help you stay on track and allow you to adjust your plans based on what’s working and what’s not.

  1. Engage with the Community

Your journey can inspire others just as someone inspired you.

Share your progress, the challenges you’ve overcome, and what you’ve learned along the way.

Engaging with a community not only helps others but also keeps you motivated.

By applying these principles, you’re not just building habits.

You’re adopting a lifestyle that promotes continuous improvement and personal growth. Remember the goal is not a quick fix but to be better in the long term. 

Keep pushing your limits, and let your journey transform you.

Today’s Podcast:

I found this week’s episode of the My First Million podcast featuring Jeremy Giffon to be fascinating, especially as they were speaking on the early days of building Tiny from a shoebox apartment and keeping a blow-up mattress on the floor.  

One idea that really stood out was how important it is to move fast when you don’t have experience. Jeremy shared about how early on they had no idea what an LOI (letter of intent) really was, and this forced him to download templates off of the Internet and learn by doing. 

Most people mistake knowledge for experience.

Action, actually doing the thing, is how you learn to become world-class. 

Give it a listen, and let me know what you think.

Today's Optimization

Since my Ironman years, I have been training 2-4 hours a day six to seven days a week. With this much volume, muscle tweaks and strains are a constant issue. One of the most impactful additions to my recovery has been the  Move+ by Kineon Labs. It has helped me recover faster from pain that used to take me out of the gym for days or weeks.  

I researched these red light devices heavily and had several friends in their thirties, forties, and fifties who had been recommending Move+ by Kineon Labs to me. Over the past year since I started using it, I have noticed that I have been able to immediately address slight tweaks and minor injuries that result from training. I keep a Move+ in my car and at my desk so that I can multi-task and make the most efficient use of my time. When I am driving to the gym or sitting on a call, I will put the device to get a 20-minute prehab/rehab session during the day.

Today Kineon Labs is offering Movement Memo subscribers a deal: 10% off using code “EHINMAN”.

Know friends, training partners, or co-workers who would take value from weekly tips on a healthier lifestyle, enhanced accountability, and improved routines? Thanks for sharing!

WAS THIS FORWARDED TO YOU? Sign up here!

QUESTIONS OR THOUGHTS? Reply to this email!

Publisher: Eric Hinman

Editor-in-chief: Bobby Ryan