Why I Designed the Ultimate Wellness Home

(and the blueprint so you can too):

read time: 6 minutes 

Welcome to The Movement Memo, a bi-weekly newsletter where I share actionable tips to help you live your best day ever, every day.

Today's Programming 

  • Movement: Metabolic conditioning 

  • Quote: Angelou on what people remember

  • Lesson: Why I designed the ultimate wellness home (and how you can too)

  • Optimization: Boost your energy and mental clarity

Today's Movement 

4 rounds for time:

  • 500-meter row

  • 10 burpee box-jump overs

  • 10 power cleans

♀ 20-inch box, 95-lb barbell, and 14-lb med ball

♂ 24-inch box, 135-lb barbell, and 20-lb med ball 

Morning sunlight, coffee, and Cowboy Colostrum!

Today's Quote

““At the end of the day people won’t remember what you said or did, they will remember how you made them feel.” 

–Maya Angelou

People will forget what you say.

People will forget what you did.

But people will not forget how you make them feel.

If you want to stand out and build deeper relationships, focus on how you make others feel.

And find ways to create a memorable experience. 

Today's Lesson Learned

Leave the world better than you found it. This is a mantra that many strive to live.

But how does one make tangible progress to accomplish this?

To tackle any big goal we have to break it down into smaller pieces.

For me, if I want to leave the world a better place, I know I can have the most impact on the people with whom I interact.

Specifically, I aim to leave people better off and with a memorable experience.

This is what I have built my brand around, this is how I built my reputation. And I believe it takes a lifetime of constant effort to create a reputation, which just boils down to what people say about you when you are not in the room.

So, how do we build the habit of making others feel seen, heard, and remembered?

Like anything in life, it comes down to sets and reps. And there are 3 questions I ask myself after I meet with or host new people: 

  • Did I leave them with a memorable experience? 

  • Do they feel better off for the time they spent with me? 

  • Will they want to spend time with me again?

These questions came to me after I read a book in my late 20s that changed my life “Never Eat Alone” by Keith Ferrazzi. 

Over the next 5 years, I started every day with a coffee meeting at 7:00 a.m. Then, I trained with friends for 60 minutes, either running or biking to get ready for Ironman competition. No excuses, no matter the day. Over lunch, I scheduled a business meeting. It didn’t matter who it was, or what business they were in, we met anyway and I learned. At 6:00 p.m. I trained again, whatever I didn’t do in the morning or swimming, and then followed that with another dinner meeting. Pretty much everyone I met, I have done business with at some point over the past 15 years—and we have been able to provide value to each other in ways we couldn’t see that day.

In the beginning, I hated meeting new people. 

My hands would get clammy, and my head would start beading with sweat the moment I walked into a restaurant. Still, I forced myself to meet with one person at every meal. Sometimes, I would spark a relationship instantly with my new friend. Other times I wouldn’t, and I had to fight my way through more than a few awkward, one-sided conversations. Over time, however, my self-confidence developed, and the anxiety I had before meeting new people began to subside. Eventually, it went away altogether.

To this day, I share many of my meals.

With friends. With business partners. With loved ones.

Meals have become where I do a considerable amount of business and are an activity that I now look forward to. It helps to surround yourself with people on a similar path with shared values, and I’ve learned that people bring incredible amounts of energy, ingenuity, and excitement into life. 

A lot of people think the number on social that is next to your name determines your “credibility”.

However, there is a difference between perceived credibility and actual credibility.

I built my reputation in person.

I built my network over 15 years, meeting new people every single day.

I focused on being interested, not interesting.

I worked to provide value without asking for anything in return.

I wanted to leave people with a memorable first impression and in a better place for the time they spent with me.

This has become one of the driving functions behind the work that I do and has touched almost every area of my life.

More specifically, it impacted the design of our dream home here in Denver, Colorado. We wanted to be able to host new friends and have them leave feeling better than when they came here. I've always resonated with the saying, people remember you most based on how you make them feel. So we built our home as a wellness oasis where others can come, gain a new experience, and leave feeling better than when they arrived.

I put together THE ULTIMATE WELLNESS HOME SHOPPING LIST, with all of the products that I have tested (and that have become staples) over the years.

To leave the world better than you found it I believe you get to impact your community on the local level. 

You do this by building a genuine, lasting reputation is about making others feel valued and creating memorable experiences. 

Today's Optimization

The SISU Sauna has become the place where I take many of my business meetings today. I look forward to being able to share my passion for sauna therapy with others and expose them to the healing power of heat. Typically, I perform 3 rounds of 20 minutes in the SISU Sauna at 200’F directly into 3 minutes in the Ice Barrel at 37’F.

The SISU Sauna is paired with HUUM Hive Heaters, the best heaters on the market, and is Bluetooth-compatible. This makes it so that I can turn on my SISU Sauna from anywhere with my phone, and I use this most afternoons on my mountain bike ride on Green Mountain! Today SISU Sauna is offering Movement Memo subscribers a deal: $500 off their sauna using code “ehinman” at checkout

Know friends, training partners, or co-workers who would take value from weekly tips on a healthier lifestyle, enhanced accountability, and improved routines? Thanks for sharing!

WAS THIS FORWARDED TO YOU? Sign up here!

QUESTIONS OR THOUGHTS? Reply to this email!

Publisher: Eric Hinman

Editor-in-chief: Bobby Ryan