5 Mental Reframes That Changed My Life

(the power of perspective):

read time: 7 minutes 

Welcome to The Movement Memo, a bi-weekly newsletter where I share actionable tips to help you live your best day ever, every day.

Today's Programming 

  • Movement: 5 rounds for time

  • Quote: Dyer on perspective

  • Lesson: 5 mental reframes that changed my life

  • Optimization: The importance of nitric oxide and vasodilation

Today's Movement 

Complete 5 rounds for time:

• 5 deadlifts
• 10 wall-ball shots
• 40 feet walking sandbag lunges
• 10 wall-ball shots
• 15 cal assault bike

Rest for 3 minutes between sets.

♀ 135 lb
♂ 225 lb

Create environments that allow you to do your best work (first).

Today's Quote

“If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.”

— Wayne Dyer

When you alter your mindset, you shift your reality. 

Problems can become opportunities, and obstacles can turn into stepping stones. 

This perspective shift can lead to personal growth and a more positive outlook on life. 

It emphasizes that our perception shapes our experience. 

Ultimately, changing your viewpoint can change your world.

Today's Lesson Learned

5 mental reframes that changed my life:

  1. Think of your mind as a battery

This is why I do my hardest work first. 

I get the tough stuff done early because it’s easiest then.

Think about it like this: When you start your day, your mind is fresh and free of distractions. You haven't yet been bombarded with emails, calls, or messages. This makes it the perfect time to tackle the most challenging tasks on your to-do list. For me, that's between 6 AM and 8 AM, a window when the world around me is quiet, and I can dive deep into my work without interruptions.

Take working out as an example. I hit my hardest workout at 8:30 AM because as the day goes on, my willpower fades. If I leave my workout for later, it's easier to skip it altogether. Conversely, if I knock it out first thing, I’ve already won a significant part of the day. On the flip side, if I wait until the evening, I’m more likely to feel tired and less motivated, making it more likely I’ll skip it or not give it my best effort.

Think of your mind like a battery. In the morning, it’s fully charged. But as you go through the day, dealing with tasks, conversations, and decisions, that battery drains. So, by doing the hardest work first, you’re using your battery when it’s at its strongest.

Tackle your toughest tasks when your energy is highest.

2. Think of life’s problems as speed bumps. 

Your biggest problems today will seem tiny in a year. 

It’s easy to get caught up in the problems you face today. They can feel overwhelming and all-consuming. But if you think about it, a year from now, those problems will likely feel small. In five years, you might barely remember them. And in ten years, you’ll probably laugh at yourself for thinking they mattered so much.

For example, remember a problem you had a few years ago that seemed insurmountable at the time. Maybe it was a job you didn’t get or a relationship that ended. At the moment, it felt like the end of the world. But now, looking back, you see how it was just a blip on the radar, a speed bump in the journey of life. Conversely, consider a time when you worried incessantly about something minor, only to realize later that it had no real impact on your life.

Think of life’s problems as speed bumps. When you’re driving and you hit a speed bump, it slows you down momentarily. It can be jarring, but it’s not the end of the road. You keep driving, and soon enough, you’re back to smooth sailing. These bumps don’t define your journey; they’re just small obstacles along the way.

Celebrate each day and know problems are just temporary.

3. Think of your home like planting a garden

Few things rival the joy of time with close friends.

Spending time with close friends brings a unique joy that few other experiences can match. It’s why Sarah and I were very intentional about designing our home to host in ways we love—focusing on wellness, cooking, and co-working. These activities aren’t just hobbies; they create a space that feels like a community, reminding me of the carefree times of my childhood when friends were always around playing ping-pong and basketball, and we were simply enjoying each other’s company. (Now we crush workouts and do contrast therapy). Our home feels like a community wellness commune, thanks to Sarah's support and willingness to embrace this lifestyle.

For instance, when we host a BBQ night, it’s not just about the food. It’s about everyone coming together, contributing, and sharing a meal we all helped create. Contrast this with a more isolated lifestyle where people eat alone or rely on takeout. The sense of connection and community simply isn’t there.

Think of it like planting a garden. When you put in the effort to plant, water, and care for the plants, you end up with a beautiful, thriving space. But if you neglect it, the garden becomes overgrown and unwelcoming. By intentionally creating a home environment that fosters togetherness and wellness, we’re cultivating a space where friendships can flourish.

Design your space to nurture community and joy follows.

4. Think of life like curating a playlist.

Design your life to maximize joy and fulfillment.

Fifteen years ago, I made two crucial lists. One captured the people, places, activities, and environments that brought me joy and made me feel completely in the moment, giving and receiving value, and feeling utterly fulfilled. The other list identified the energy-sucking activities, conversations, places, and environments. I began shifting away from those negative elements and started shaping my life around the positive ones.

For example, I realized that outdoor activities like running and biking gave me the mental space to think deeply and understand what I truly wanted. These activities became a regular part of my life, helping me design days that felt rewarding and meaningful. In contrast, spending time in draining environments or engaging in unfulfilling activities became less frequent.

Think of it like curating a playlist. You keep the songs that energize and uplift you and skip the ones that drag you down. By intentionally choosing what fills your day, you can create a life where even a Tuesday feels as fulfilling as a Saturday.

Craft your daily life to make every day feel like the weekend.

5. Think of your life like a sculptor working with a block of marble

Prioritize what you do best and brings joy.

I often ponder questions like: What can only I do, and do best? How do I want to spend my time? What brings me and others the most joy? Where can I add the most value? How can I keep my cup full every day so I can give back? What fills me with positive energy? What allows complete presence? What can I automate, delegate, or eliminate?

Breaking it down, these questions guide us to focus on our unique strengths and passions. They help identify activities and environments that maximize joy and fulfillment while minimizing stress and negativity. By understanding what brings us joy and where we add the most value, we can better allocate our time and energy.

For example, if I excel at creative problem-solving and find it fulfilling, I should prioritize tasks and projects that utilize this skill. Conversely, if routine administrative work drains me, it makes sense to delegate or automate those tasks. This way, I can focus on what I do best and what brings the most joy to myself and others.

Think of your life like a sculptor working with a block of marble. You chip away the excess to reveal the masterpiece within. By removing what doesn’t serve you and focusing on what does, you create a life that is uniquely yours, filled with purpose and joy.

Focus on your strengths and what brings joy.

Today's Optimization

As we age our cells age, but I believe we get to choose what 40-year-old, 50-year-old, and 60-year-old we want to be. I envision mountain biking into my 60's and surfing in my 70's. But here’s a fact, after 30, muscle mass decreases by approximately 3–8% per decade. I’m pretty fascinated with cellular health at the moment and recently I learned the primary cause for this decline is based on mitochondrial function, the “powerhouse” of our cells.

I started researching ways to limit this decline and have come to believe mitochondria are the bedrock of good health. Healthy cells rely on healthy mitochondria. Their optimal function leads to incredible health benefits and is particularly essential to heart, kidney, eye, brain, skin, and muscle function. As we age, mitochondrial function declines. Our mitochondria are constantly renewed to produce energy and fulfill the vast energy demands of muscle, skin, and other tissues, but as we get older, mitochondrial renewal declines and dysfunctional mitochondria accumulate in the cells, resulting in significant issues.

I recently started taking Timeline’s Mitopure (a clinically studied/proven supplement), which unlocks the power of Urolithin A, a molecule that stimulates this crucial recycling and cleansing process in our mitochondria - ultimately protecting cells from age-associated decline. Today Timeline is offering Movement Memo subscribers an exclusive deal: 10% off your first order using code “Hinman” at checkout.

Know friends, training partners, or co-workers who would take value from weekly tips on a healthier lifestyle, enhanced accountability, and improved routines? Thanks for sharing!

WAS THIS FORWARDED TO YOU? Sign up here!

QUESTIONS OR THOUGHTS? Reply to this email!

Publisher: Eric Hinman

Editor-in-chief: Bobby Ryan